Working Mom Homemaker – Bartering

Posted on

Last week I wrote about trying to be a better Homemaker. However, being a working single mom, I was having difficulty accomplishing everything I wanted. One of the things I tried is bartering.

In this post I’ll discuss the following:

  • What is bartering?
  • How to barter
  • Saying No
  • My experiences

So what is bartering?

bar·ter
[bahr-ter]
verb (used without object)
1. to trade by exchange of commodities rather than by the use of money.

Right … this is when you exchange products or services with someone else for ANOTHER product or service.

There are two main online sources I use; Craigslist and Freecycle. With both of these sources I suggest you take caution when participating. There are a lot of scammers out there and you should be careful whenever dealing with strangers. If you’re good with networking, you may just find people in person that you can barter with.

There is a whole section on Craigslist for this. You can post a listing on the services or items you have to offer with information on what you’re looking for in return. Or vice versa you can just search for what other people have or need. With Freecycle there are a few more rules, but it’s all explained when you sign up. For example, you must offer something first before you can ask for something.

How to Barter

You’ll first need to determine what it is that you need or want and then what you have to offer.You may want a website but have no idea how to get started. But maybe you’re really good at cooking or making crafts. That’s a perfect barter for me!

Then you’ll need to determine how much everything is worth. What you have to offer and what they have to offer. Make it clear (put it in writing if you feel more comfortable). The arrangement should be fair and something yon and feel comfortable with. If you’re not feeling fully satisfied or like you are getting what you need, then walk away. Which brings me to the next point….

Saying No!

Sometimes you just need to say no. Don’t be afraid to say no! If someone does not have what you need/want or there’s really no way for you to give them what THEY need/want, then say no. And don’t feel bad about it. This is business. I’m sure a man wouldn’t have a problem saying no to someone if it didn’t benefit him. I’m just sayin’… I think as women tend to want to ‘please’ but that doesn’t mean we should give ourselves away.

My Experience

I have done some successful bartering in the last couple of years. Most recently I posted a listing on Craigslist looking for someone to help me with cleaning around the house in exchange for Internet Marketing services. I’m on the computer all day anyway, so why not get something else out of it that would benefit me and my son. It’s been great! I come home from a late, crazy day, and my house is all clean! So that means that over the weekend I get to run all the errands I have never had any time to do because I’m trying to catch up from my neglected housework! And once someone has REALLY cleaned, I can keep it up for weeks at a time.

Have you ever bartered before? Have any suggestions or other resources? Post a comment or contact me!

Leave a Reply

